YOGA part one

Who doesn’t love a good workout?  I know I do!  One of my favorite quotes about exercise comes from the movie Legally Blonde and in my opinion if you have not seen this movie then you are missing out!

Elle: I just don’t think that Brooke could’ve done this. Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.

Today on my first Workout Wednesday (and the next couple of Wednesdays), I will be writing about yoga.  I have had a fairly active life, being involved in sports and going to the gym in my free time.  I played in a softball in little league, dabbled in golf, took gymnastic classes and was a cheerleader for over fifteen years.  I had of course heard about yoga but was not really sure what it was all about and I never practiced the activity.  Recently in a fitness program I am participating in called Tone It Up had a workout routine called bikini yoga which I ended up enjoying.  

Yoga is a new adventure for me and like any new activity or sport you should do your “homework”.  The first thing I did was search Google by just typing in yoga where I found millions of hits in less than a minute which is way to many choices.  So how do you narrow down hits to get the information you want?

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 9.51.25 PM

To get the information I wanted, I added more parameters to my Google search.  I landed on Yoga Journal’s web page where I found this article, Yoga 101: A Beginner’s Guide to Practice, Meditation, and the Sutras, which gave answers to these ten beginner yoga questions (below).  Just from reading the article I so much more about yoga, so please if you are interested in yoga I urge you to check it out!

  1. What is yoga?
  2. What does hatha mean?
  3. What does Om mean?
  4. Do I have to be vegetarian to practice yoga?
  5. How many times per week should I practice?
  6. How is yoga different form stretching or other kinds of fitness?
  7. Is yoga a religion?
  8. I’m not flexible – Can I do yoga?
  9. What do I need to begin?
  10. Why are you supposed to refrain from eating two to three hours before class?

After reading the helpful article (see above) on Yoga Journal I searched for videos for beginning yoga on Pinterest and completed a couple different videos.  After only doing a few routines I fell in love with yoga and stared my own yoga board.  I spent about two weeks just doing random yoga videos from YouTube but felt I was not getting a well-rounded practice of yoga so when I moved back to my parents house at the beginning of May I started looking into classes located near my new home.  Unfortunately for me I could not afford to take classes at any local yoga establishments so I started to search for other options to participate in yoga.  Stay tuned to my next WORKOUT WEDNESDAY for more!

Namaste Y’all

This entry was posted in Wellness/Workout Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YOGA part one

  1. Pingback: YOGA part two | Meredith Rambles

Leave a Reply

